In Review on
November 17, 2015

Happily Ever After by Kiera Cass – Book Review


Hello, Kind Friends! Today I’m sharing a review of Happily Ever After by Kiera Cass, a novella bind-up set in the universe of The Selection Series.

If you haven’t read this series yet, I highly recommend it. The pitch I usually tell people is that this series is The Bachelor meets royalty meets dystopia.

It’s a fun ride!

Happily Ever After features the following novellas:

  • The Prince, Maxon’s novella
  • The Guard, Aspen’s novella
  • The Queen, Amberly’s novella
  • The Favorite, Marlee’s novella
  • Three scenes from Celeste’s POV
  • The Maid, Lucy’s Novella
  • The bonus epilogue
  • Where are they now?

Happily Ever AfterI felt that The Guard and The Maid were the real standouts in this collection, and reading them really helped me understand Aspen and Lucy better.

Whereas The Prince and The Queen felt a bit flat to me, more like descriptions of what was happening rather than being really flushed out characters. I was hoping to feel more emotion in it.

The Favorite and Celeste’s scenes gave some intriguing insights into unseen character arcs, so I enjoyed reading them very much. The bonus epilogues and updates on other characters in The Elite was also enjoyable.

I gave this book a 3.5 on Goodreads, mostly because of The Queen and The Prince. Overall, I think that this book purchase would be great for all The Selection Series fans. However, I think that not all of the novellas are as exciting and well-written, so it can be disappointing for people that were interested in one or two characters rather than the whole of these novellas.

Haven’t read this book yet? Grab Happily Ever After and other books in The Selection Series, or listen to one of the books for free with an Audible free trial.

What book series are you currently reading?

[Image: Epic Reads]

Previous Post Next Post

Leave a Reply

A Ravenclaw told me you'd like these blog posts